Howard County Living Out Loud!
Sun Dogs Jan 2014 Canoe Cows camping Biking Family Biker Sunset fishing

Welcome to Howard County!

Welcome to Howard County!

Howard County - Where Community Pride Was Invented!
Located along the Upper Iowa River in Northeast Iowa, less than an hour from the Mississippi River.

Visit the boyhood home and farm of Dr. Norman Borlaug and stop in at the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame.

  • Canoe the Upper Iowa River, explore Lake Hendricks in Riceville and the Nature Center at Vernon Springs.
  • Miles of bike trails, snowmobiling, cross country skiing, off-road trails, and hiking. We have dirt track racing, 3 distinct golf courses, and excellent hunting & fishing areas.
  • The first Fitness Trail in Iowa possesses outdoor equipment strategically placed along the Prairie Springs Recreation Trail. Enjoy your run/walk and work-out along the trail because this scenic experience now adds a challenge to all fitness levels!
  • Visit the largest fitness center in the region (indoor pool, track and basketball court, hot tub, weights, virtual golf).
  • Find out why we are so proud of Ellen Church!
  • Every city has a summer festival and we celebrate Snowfest in January.

Howard County is home to Featherlite, Inc. as well as many innovative and unique businesses. Visit the largest flower and produce market in the region (Cedar Valley), the Amish and Mennonite greenhouses and shops, the first county-wide Farmers Market in the state of Iowa - EVERY city has a market. We have art galleries, bike shop, quilt shop and other specialty shops.

Contact our office to find out more about Howard County
101 2nd Ave SW, Cresco, Iowa 52136, 563.547.3434

Cresco and Howard County                                          

Promote Your Page Too

HCED Spotlight

CADET NATION to Fight Hunger
CADET NATION to Fight Hunger
1000 Schroeder Drive
Cresco, IA 52136
Contact: Crestwood High School
Phone: 563.547.2762
Email: no
Hunger continues to be a problem not only globally, but also here in NE IOWA. Thursday, October 20, Howard-Winn students are coming together for a Meal Packaging event. During the school day, elementary and secondary students will be putting together meals to be distributed here in NE IOWA. Working with Meals from the Heartland, TEAMS will be working to meet the District goal of packaging 60,000 meals. Community volunteers are welcome to participate. If interested contact John Carver at or call the District office at 563 547 2762.

Area Events